This has nothing to do with anti-vaxxers

A couple of posts ago, I wrote about how a (probably) anti-vaccine activist called the DC Department of Health and complained that someone was impersonating an epidemiologist. In case said person is reading, nothing happened. I am an epidemiologist. Several of us write blogs. It’s a fact of live that we’re going to refute your lies and misinformation. Live with it.

That said, I’ve been applying to several jobs over the last few months. I don’t have a lot to tie me to the capital area, except my friends. I love my friends, some of them more than others. But it is time for a change, and that time is coming up soon. I’ve lined up several interviews from here in town to up in Baltimore, to all the way up in New York City. (NEW YORK CITY?!) Some of those job leads are very promising, and I’d be doing work overseas.

Of course, the anti-vaccine crowd is going to say that this is a direct result of them calling DC DOH and complaining. They’ve always been very bad about association and causation, so why would this be any different?

On a lighter, more encouraging note, my post on Dr. Peter Doshi and his influenza shenanigans has gotten this blog a lot of attention. Rational people who can tell that we live in the real world have been using my post to refute anti-vaccine talking points that use his version of epidemiology to discredit the need for the influenza vaccine. Even concerned grandparents have been using them to try and talk some rationality to their anti-vaccine children:

Screen Shot 2013-11-14 at 3.14.26 PM

 

I hope it doesn’t all fall on deaf ears.

So, as you can see, dear anti-vaccine advocates, I’m not going away any time soon. I will continue to counter the lies and misinformation that your side continuously spews for whatever messed-up reason. I may change jobs, but my work will remain the same.

I’ll let you know what happens, and when I start the new job.

(It’s ironic that the anti-vaccine person in the screen capture above would call herself “Roma5:8″ in reference to a passage in the Bible about self-sacrifice. They seem to be perfectly okay with Jesus dying for their sins, but God forbid (pun intended) they take a vaccine for their community.)

2 thoughts on “This has nothing to do with anti-vaxxers

  1. As a student of Epidemiology, I am excited to know about your prospects to work overseas. As a reader/follower of your blog, that is even more awesome because I am sure it is going to lead to a treasure trove of stories. However, I hope this change of scenario is not going to cause much vexation to you and your family and friends. I wish you all the best! Cheers!

  2. Was reading an interesting case study on a cluster in Tennessee of vitamin K deficiency bleeding in neonates.
    Apparently, the parents had bad information about “toxins”, leukemia and it being unnecessary, resulting in the parents declining vitamin K prophylaxis.
    Three had intra-cranial hemorrhage, one GI bleeding. One of the three intra-cranial cases now has gross motor deficit, only time will tell if there is lasting harm to the other two.
    http://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/preview/mmwrhtml/mm6245a4.htm?s_cid=mm6245a4_e

Comments are closed.