You could work somewhere else, you know?

Some of you may not know this, but I used to work at a hospital in a previous life. Even though I wasn’t providing direct patient care – and mostly just did mop-up work, if you know what I mean – I was required by the hospital to be immunized against hepatitis B, measles, mumps, rubella, diphtheria, tetanus, and pertussis. Why? Because I could get hepatitis B from an accident with a contaminated item or surface, because I could contract measles and spread it around before I had any symptoms, because I could do the same with pertussis (whooping cough), and because, well, I’m not an asshole.

Seriously, I’m not.

Now, I know that Seth Mnookin was once criticized for saying that word in a conversation about vaccines. I’m not afraid, either. I’ll spell it out for you:
People who have no obvious reason to not be vaccinated and work in healthcare and refuse to be immunized are assholes.
You cannot possibly work around people who are sick to begin with and not do your part to prevent more infections. You just can’t!

These idiots in New Zealand don’t understand this. Even after healthcare workers have been infected with measles, they’re still spreading fear about the MMR vaccine, a vaccine which could save lives. What are they saying?

“It’s obviously important for St John Ambulance to take steps to minimise the risk to patients who could be particularly vulnerable to developing complications if they contract measles. It is a sensible precaution to quarantine staff who might have been exposed to measles so they cannot inadvertently pass the disease on to other staff or patients.” Smith says.
“However, I hope that St John will respect the human rights of its employees when planning a vaccination campaign and ensure that paramedics and other staff will be able make a free and informed choice about whether or not to be vaccinated.”

For crying out loud! Yes, they have a human right to not be strapped down and vaccinated against their will, but we’re not talking about that. We’re talking about people who want to work in healthcare having to do what they must to keep the people they’re working for safe. If they don’t want to take the vaccines, then they also have the God-given right to go work at some other goddam place.

Enough with the bullshit, already. Get the goddamn shot.

Yes, I feel better now.

