Because Pedro thinks so as well

I was talking to my significant other, Pedro (not her real name), and we agreed that I need to take some time off from chasing down every little bit of anti-vaccine paranoia out there in the big bad world (of the internet). I’ve only just scratched the surface of that bit of insanity. I’ve only had just a tiny, itty bit of what they gave going on out there. And it’s getting to me.

Pedro said that I was getting too tense and too worked up about their stupidity. Can you blame me? I mean, look at this:

The Natural News site said this 6 years ago in article entitled The great thimerosal cover-up: Mercury, vaccines, autism and your child’s health. “This increase in reported autism cases eerily parallels the increase in the number and frequency of thimerosal-containing vaccinations administered to infants. As of today, children are given as many as 21 immunizations in the first 15 months of life. After a number of scientists and concerned activists noticed the correlation, an investigation was launched to get to the heart of the matter.” More recently, January 2008, the Science-Based Medicine site denied any causal link between mercury, vaccines and autism in an article entitled Mercury in vaccines as a cause of autism and autism spectrum disorders (ASDs): A failed hypothesis. The question is, who do you believe? I don’t have a ready answer but I must confess that whenever I see the word “science” these days, in a secular setting where what follows is going to help some major pressure group, e.g. big pharma in this case, St Paul’s warning in 1 Timothy 6:20 comes immediately to mind. The 1611 Holy Bible reads as follows, the key word having been changed in the new versions, caps are mine: “O Timothy, keep that which is committed to thy trust, avoiding profane and vain babblings, and oppositions of SCIENCE FALSELY SO CALLED:”

Holy crap!

Lucky for us, “The Pathogen Posse” intervened and gave a most awesome answer:

So, in 1 Timothy 6:1, “Those who are under the yoke of slavery must regard their masters as worthy of full respect, so that the name of God and our teaching may not suffer abuse.” Do you think that still applies today? Should slaves respect their masters, Mr. O’Reilly? It is written that woe be unto him who uses the word of God out of context and for their own purposes. The epistle to Timothy doesn’t mention science, per se. Rather, it mentions “knowledge”, and it warns against false prophets, people who claim to have “knowledge” about the Kingdom of God, not about science of vaccines. Here’s a better explanation of what is meant in the passage you quoted: A final solemn warning against the heretical teachers, with what seems to be a specific reference to gnosticism, the great rival and enemy of the church for two centuries and more (the Greek word for “knowledge” is gnōsis). If gnosticism is being referred to here, it is probable that the warnings against “speculations” and “myths and genealogies” (cf. especially 1 Tm 1:4; Ti 3:9) involve allusions to that same kind of heresy. Characteristic of the various gnostic systems of speculation was an elaborate mythology of innumerable superhuman intermediaries, on a descending scale (“genealogies”), between God and the world. Thus would be explained the emphasis upon Christ’s being the one mediator (as in 1 Tm 2:5). Although fully developed gnosticism belonged to the second and later centuries, there are signs that incipient forms of it belonged to Paul’s own period. Woe be unto you, Mr. O’Reilly.

Nice.

Still, do you see what I mean? They’re nuts. They cannot be argued with because they have ears but will not listen – one of Jesus’ annoyances, coincidentally.

Another example:

I am a Registered Nurse, with a Masters Degree. Believe me, I thought vaccines were the bomb too, until I began to have grandkids. Then I really began to investigate the truth. When my kids were little they got just a few shots. Now they give so many it was shocking. And a very good friend of mine has a son who quit speaking the day after his flu vaccine at around 18 months. So, Yes, I’ve done my homework.

No! No you have not! You have not done your goddamn homework. For starters, you think the plural of anecdote is data. It is not. If that child quit speaking because of the flu, why has no controlled study EVER been able to replicate your findings?

No, you did not do research. Research is looking at credible, valuable, reviewed sources of information, taking in ALL the facts, and then coming to a reasonable conclusion based on the available knowledge and science of the matter. It’s not googling a term and reading the blog or website of some goddamn celebrity. It’s not asking your friends about their experiences and then deciding that their anecdote or anecdotes is somehow valuable information. That’s not research.

Someone asked her, and I do to, what sham school conferred on her a master’s degree? I’d like to have a word with them.

So, anyway, yes, I need a break. I agree with Pedro (not her real name, in case you forgot) that I need to chill out and write about something else for a little bit, maybe a week. I also need to deliver to you all the third chapter of The Poxes. So maybe I’ll focus on that.

Maybe.

2 thoughts on “Because Pedro thinks so as well

Comments are closed.