Never put a human in a deity’s position

Everyone who knows me personally has failed me at one point or another. Everyone. They have either lied to me, cheated on me, stolen from me, or they have done the same things to others. I know this for a fact because they’re human. Humans are imperfect in their nature because… Well, because of many things. It’s part of the human condition to be imperfect, and that’s okay.

Not that it matters, but I’ve forgiven 99.98% of the things that others have done against me. I’m working on the 0.02%.

Anyway, the more I read about the situation at Penn State University, the more I came to understand that my policy of placing no one on a pedestal is actually a good one. For starters, it will keep me from rioting when someone who covers up the rape of a ten year-old is fired. But there are other benefits to this line of thinking.
You see, when you raise someone onto a pedestal – especially without their knowledge – you are asking too much of a simple human being that is made of nothing more than flesh and blood. It takes more than one person to keep the world moving forward, and placing all that responsibility on one person only sets you up for disappointment. I know that Pedro (not her real name) will one day disappoint me. Likewise, I will disappoint her one day.

The key is knowing that these things happen and moving on when they happen. If you know that people will fail and disappoint you, but that you will still love and care for them, then the failures and disappointments come easy. They’re not huge crushes that make you sad or destroy relationships. (Of course, some failures are just too much, like domestic violence.) Seeking perfection, you see, is natural for us crazy humans, but it is not a natural state of being.

This is one theme that I hope to explore further in The Poxes as our protagonist raises someone onto a pedestal, only to be seriously (and shockingly) disappointed. Perfection is best asked of a deity, not a flesh-and-blood human.

