The original project, again

I’ve been writing more and more on “The Poxes.” I think I’m well into 40,000 words now, which is a record for me. If you know me, you know that I like to write. “The Poxes” has been a labour of love, to be honest. I am beginning to care more and more for the characters in that story. Perhaps it’s because I’m basing it on friends and colleagues in my own life?

As we approach 200 posts, I keep thinking about the original project behind this blog and how it’s morphed. I’ve been dragged into the anti-vaccine wars not by my own will. They came after me. They drafted me into this. So sometimes I wonder if I should go on hiatus. After all, nearly every child is immunized in the United States. What more can I do? How much more can I keep putting myself out there for the anti-vaccine crowd to wonder who I am and, as I’m sure they will, come after me?

However, I picture a world where enough children are vaccinated, herd immunity is robust, and the anti-vaccine crowd goes away. But, being the dreamer that I am, I also picture them coming back in full force and doing what Bane did to Batman (watch it all, it’s only 4 minutes):

“Let’s not stand on ceremony here, Mr. Wayne.” Bane discovers our hero’s true identity. What are they going to do when they discover mine?

“Peace has cost you your strength. Victory has defeated you.” If all the kids are vaccinated, and we don’t need to fight that war, how prepared will we be when they come back?

“Theatricality and deception, powerful agents to the uninitiated. But we are initiated, aren’t we, Bruce?” Meaning, what if the anti-vaxxers learn all our methods to stop them and can fight back and defend themselves? Worse yet, what if an anti-vaxxer becomes an epidemiologist?

“You fight like a younger man. Nothing held back. Admirable, but mistaken.” Self-explanatory.

“The shadows betray you because they belong to me.” That is, if we lie like the anti-vaccine activists do, we’re only going to end up hurting ourselves.

“Ah, yes, I was wondering what would break first… Your spirit… Or your body.” I cringe at the thought.

This is the 199th post on this blog. There will be a 200th. But I am going to take an extended break until September and think hard about having a 201st.

 

4 thoughts on “The original project, again

  1. Since your comment box says “No, seriously, tell me” – I like your blog – please keep writing! Don’t leave us hanging.

  2. Why would you ever consider shutting down your blog, Reuben? There are new worlds to conquer and new blogs (the toxic ‘kid’s) for you to blog about.

    Oh noes…just when the anti-vaxxers have expanded their base by linking vaccines to multiple sclerosis, asthma, allergies, global warning…and male pattern baldness.

    Don’t you know by now, that I am capable of notifying “old blinky box” about your defection?

    We know were you work and we will be picketing your office because you deserted us.

  3. And so, when the warrior does quit the field, the enemy does announce victory.
    For, without opposition, without sanity and factual information, the antivaxers will continue unopposed and gain ground.
    And should they gain sufficient ground, you will be unable to find time to blog again, as preventable infectious diseases will again become a scourge upon the land.

  4. Nooooo! Where else will turn to to gain my sanity back after reading the anti-vaccine blogs? C’mon Reuben you have to keep writing. Don’t make me start a change.org petition to keep this blog alive.

Comments are closed.