Don’t like vaccines? Don’t be a nurse.

I have always been impressed by the places where I find anti-vaccine activists, and I don’t mean online. They are everywhere. They can be our relatives, our friends, our colleagues. Well, your colleagues. Any colleagues of mine who are not fully up to date on their vaccinations and don’t have a reasonable excuse are not my colleagues. And then you also get them in the medical professions.

For example, there is this pediatrician and this other pediatrician who are anti-vaccine based on their words and actions, though they claim not to be. There are also plenty of nurses who are anti-vaccine, and they don’t hesitate to announce it loud and proud. Take as another example this sorry specimen of a nurse:

Don’t listen to her too closely. She doesn’t know what she’s talking about.

But at least she’s open about it. She’s not like this person:

anti-vax-nut

The person in question is a Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) at an allergist’s office in Denver, Colorado, according to her Facebook profile, her online resume, and her postings on other anti-vaccine sites and Facebook pages. (She has made most of it private now.) I wonder if she has any idea of how allergists treat allergies? Here’s a hint: They inject “toxins” and “poisons” into their patients to help the patients’ immune systems get used to them. But, alas, vaccines are too much for this person.

Woe be unto her if she decides to lie about her vaccination status, like the people giving her advice do. Why? Because she can seriously compromise the health and safety of patients she works with. And she can face criminal prosecution if she endangers patients on purpose and knowingly lies about her vaccination status. So let this stand as a public record of her actions.

9 thoughts on “Don’t like vaccines? Don’t be a nurse.

  1. They made the nurses at the hospital I work at wear a surgical mask for the flu season if they refused the flu vaccine. It just goes to show you how wide spread the anti-vaccine woo has gotten. Most nurses got the shot, but there were some who refused.

  2. I would most definitely find a way to disclose the “medical professionals” anti-vaccine bias to an employer. There’s no reason that these people should have the right to put others’ lives in danger. I am all for individual liberities, but your right to decide what happens to your body ends when it affects the safety and well-being of others.

  3. If I ever saw this on my facebook feed, and I knew where the nurse was applying, I’d screen cap it an blow her in. Sorry. I work in oncology infection prevention, and you do NOT screw around with those patients. Nope. Her need for a job does not trump the right of another to not get a VPD. Shoot, I’d play friendly and ask where she was applying, then I would destroy her chances and sleep soundly that night. I get downright vicious when I see “nurses” like this, when their preconceived world-views blind them to logic and reason.

    Is that video from the LPN who brags she’s a “medical professional” all over the place? No offense to LPNs, but in my facility we don’t even hire them anymore. We have one grandfathered in and she essentially does the work of a clinical assistant. Again, no offense to LPNs, but…not someone I would ever take medical advice from.

    I probably sound like a terrible person, but this shit makes me so mad.

  4. Even without opening that videotape, I knew immediately that she calls herself “The Patriot Nurse”. She was the topic of two blog posts on the Shot of Prevention blog and our very own Autismum took her on…big time. The entire sordid mess is covered right here:

    http://scienceblogs.com/insolence/2012/01/19/a-black-hole-of-antivaccine-misinformation/

    Allergy to eggs, eh? That’s no excuse for not being boosted with either brand of Tdap vaccine.

    http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/pubs/pinkbook/downloads/appendices/b/excipient-table-2.pdf

  5. And injections bypass the filter of the gut. Which is bad. Because the gut decides what chemicals can get into the body. TSIB. I know you said not to pay too close attention, but OMG. The only alternative is to just turn it off.

  6. “I’m turning off comments so we can have real intelligent debate.” SMH.

  7. Our eldest daughter is an RN who astounded us and was astounded herself by one of her classmates, who graduated as a BSN and acquired her RN. Said classmate was extremely antivax, which made me ask our daughter whatinhell did they teach in nursing school?
    She was unable to ascertain *how* two people could be taught the very same science and arrive at diametrically opposed views, one based upon fact, the other upon fallacy.

Comments are closed.