Slowing down doesn’t mean giving up

Can you smell it? It’s the smell of fear and contempt from new students on a new academic year. It is delicious, and nothing gives me more pleasure than to impart my knowledge to unsuspecting “kids” that come along wanting to learn about this dark art called “epidemiology.” I’ll be a little busy with that for the next few months. I might not be able to post as often as I have, but I will post. Don’t you worry your pretty little head about that. It’s just a little bit of a slowdown.

While I get the next post ready over the coming week, I’d like to ask you all a questions. I’d like you to take a gander at The Kid’s blog and tell me if you can find one single post where he puts his epidemiological know-how to good use. After all, he fancies himself an epidemiologist. He introduces himself as one when he writes nonsensical letters to whine and complain about what he perceives to be injustices. But I keep failing to find a single blog post of his that uses epidemiology to address something. For example, in the latest brouhaha over Andrew Jeremy Wakefield and BS Hooker, The Kid never once defended the horrible epidemiology and biostatistics approach that BS Hooker had. The Kid never told us why it would be okay to use case-control data as a cohort study.

I’m willing to wager that it is because The Kid has forgotten all about the science to make room in his head for all the conspiracy theories that can fit in it. But that’s just me. So, if you can find one blog post where The Kid addresses some controversy or some issue from an epidemiological point of view, I’ll wash your car some day.

Next post this weekend, unless something happens between now and then. (And, no, Age of Autism releasing an alleged text message conversation between Andrew Jeremy and the CDC Whistleblower is not “something.” It’s the same old song, just enough to get their troops riled up. Besides, who signs their name in a text message? And it’s not like you can fake such a thing, is it?)

Is it?

Is it?

3 thoughts on “Slowing down doesn’t mean giving up

  1. I’ll go you one better guys. I’ve read all of Jake’s posts, before he went rogue, on that notorious anti-vaccine, anti-science blog, and he never attempted to dissect any scientific paper. All of his posts were hit jobs, chock full of his conspiracy theories.

    I’ve said it before and I will say it again; he may have a MPH-Epidemiology degree, but he will never be an epidemiologist.

  2. One would think that given Jake’s area of ah “expertise” and the central criticisms surrounding the withdrawn Hooker “study” and the DeStefano et al. study, that he would be eager to show his stuff and explain to his audience what the strengths and weaknesses (statistically and epidemiologically-speaking) of each are. Someone likened Jake’s blog to nothing more than a gossip column; I’d have to concur.

  3. Nice joke; except that it attributes to ignorance what has been pretty well shown to have been pure, simple greed.

Comments are closed.